The twilight zone

There are times it feels like I’m living in the twilight zone. Tuesday was one of those days. I had my ultrasound so the girls were home. I had to go to the bathroom again (hard to imagine) so I asked Alex to start my car. She has done this more than once, no problem or so I thought. I walk out onto the porch to see my car barreling toward the gate of the drylot. My youngest daughter screaming at the top of her lungs. Now keep in mind that Alex will be 16 on April 6, she has not only started my car before but actually driven it in the driveway. But for some reason apparently when she started it, she didn’t realize it was in gear. Than instead of stalling it which is particularly easy to do with this vehicle she launched it forward right through the gate barely missing the barn and the two posts supporting the gate. As well as just missing 3 very startled horses. Why not hit the brake you ask, good question, apparently she couldn’t find it. I’m not quite sure if she was looking in the backseat or on the ceiling but she couldn’t find it! Luckily she brought the car to a stop just inside the gate with minimal damage to the car or the gate. The situation now under control off to my ultrasound. Who would have thought I would be juggling teen driver wanna-bes a daughter getting ready to graduate from college and a baby on the way.

The best part of the day… a healthy baby GIRL!!! Who in 16 years may start my car only to not find the brake and go plummeting through the drylot gate. Except in 16 years I will be.. wait I’m not doing the math I don’t need to be on anti-depressants as well.

Leave a Reply

