Simplicity or Lack There of

I like to keep my life as simple as possible. This may be because I have a limited brain capacity or it may just be because I seem to hit overload pretty darn quick. I’m not sure which. I’ve never taken the time to actually figure it out. But,  it seems to me that the world in general is constantly conspiring against me.  I’ll give you some examples. Last year I bought a new (to me) car. This was my first car in about 15 years. With a large family we needed mini vans.  So I started test driving vehicles. I had 3 criteria, could seat my 3 remaining children at home, plus squish the fourth from college in when necessary, gets very good gas mileage, and was front wheel drive. I figured this would be a relatively easy quest. Not so.  Cars nowadays have GPS systems just in case you find yourself lost in downtown Wausau WI, a very complicated city if ever I’ve seen one. 90% of my driving is local, when it’s not I can look at a map. Vehicles can (get this) back themselves into a parking spot. Now seriously if you can’t back your own vehicle into a spot (and this is just me) but maybe you shouldn’t BE DRIVING!! You can hook your MP3 into your radio, excuse me, stereo. At least I think you can I wouldn’t have a clue as to how to actually do that. And the topper, your vehicle can now talk to you. Are you kidding me?!! I don’t want a car to talk to me, sometimes that’s the only time I get some peace and quite. All this for the bargain price of about$25,000 give or take. That’s half of what I paid for my first house.

Next, we have cell phones. I just want a cell to make a phone call. Occasionally I send a text. I have a basic flip phone. My 12-year-old daughter loves to “play” with my phone. She is constantly leaving me messages, changing ring tones and other things that I had no idea even existed on it. It’s a good thing she actually likes me because if she didn’t and decided to leave me a nasty message I’d be stuck with this thing on there forever. My step daughters can access the internet, get directions to, well anywhere. “Tweet” about absolutely nothing from their jobs, the toilet, and on vacation. They can download apps for just about any possible function they may think they need.  And they are constantly losing, or dropping these phones in said toilet, on vacation and other places.

Now to what actually prompted this post. We have decided to mostly cloth diaper our as yet unnamed, much-anticipated baby girl. This is partly a financial decision, partly an environmental decision, and partly as a knitter, dyer and designer I love to put handmade super cute items on my children’s bottoms. The older children are starting to balk at this, so I have only one victim recipient left. So I set out to purchase my diapers, feeling that this is a task that even my overloaded, underachieving pregnancy brain can handle. How very wrong I was.  When I searched for diaper sites, I couldn’t believe what I found. We have pocket diapers, all in one diapers, liners (some disposable), diapers made out of cotton, hemp, bamboo, and  fleece. Prefolds made in China, apparently these are very good.  Indian prefolds I don’t know about those because by that time my head was actually steaming there was so much information. The makers of all these various brands are of course touting their product and the “happy” factor for your offspring, to the point that if you chose the wrong type of diaper your poor childs IQ will drastically drop (forget Harvard, you’ll be lucky if you manage to get him a job at the local gas station),  he/she will never sleep through the night and you may possibly create a biohazard by not containing the diapers contents adequately.

I hope you’re sitting down when I tell you the price of said diapers. They range from $14-$19 per diaper. One size does not fit all. A cover for prefolds and flats costs $8-$14, again one size does not fit all.

Now to wash our diapers we can’t just go to the store pick out laundry detergent and wash.  Ohhh no, we have to special order detergent, with no enzymes, brighteners or bleach. If you happen to have a front loader well you should get yourself a back up washer. Yes, that was actually suggested. Because they don’t get the diapers clean enough. For the $800-$1000 they cost they better get everything clean!! Or am I asking too much? My mother, grandmother, aunt, and every other women from  generations past used cloth diapers, they had a pail with a little bit of bleach and lots of water, they threw the diapers in the pail.They  soaked them until they were ready to wash,  put the contents in the washer, spun it out, washed the load, than hung them to dry. Whale, clean diapers. There were no newborn, small, infant and toddler sizes available. You just folded than unfolded as the baby got bigger.

Long story short, I ordered 2 dozen 100% cotton prefolds, (the Gerber ones on any Walmart shelf  have polyester in them, so do not absorb as well)  1 cover,  and have knitted 3 soakers so far. I’m still perfecting the pattern. It would help if I could try it on something. The dog who has the smallest butt in the house is not cooperating. When my diapers arrived I received with them an 18 (that’s not an exaggeration) page booklet on cloth diapering. I just can’t win!!

Leave a Reply

