A Simple Blanket

I have been feeling on the whole quite productive lately. That productivity has been largely centered around knitting, dyeing, and keeping my Etsy site not only running but adding new yarns as well as updating the appearance. I have also managed to keep my family fed, the laundry done, and the house basically clean and organized.  I consider this a herculean feat since I can barely breath and I haven’t seen my feet in about 3 months.

I started a very simple baby blanket for our wee one about 2 & 1/2 months ago. (I never claimed to be fast) Just something to work on when I need a no brainer type of project. Apparently you needed more of a brain than I actually thought because when I bound it off I had the sinking feeling that all was not quite right.  This is what it looks like:

It should look closer to this, plus an edging:

This is the blanket folded in half

Now I ask you what the heck am I supposed to do with a blanket that looks like that? I explored every possibility and the only option I can come up with is to rip it out and redo the whole darn thing.  I do not have another 2 1/2 months left (thank the good Lord). So time is of the essence. I am consoling myself with the thought that 1). it’s July which means it’s relatively warm and 2). She’s a Wisconsin baby and dealing with the cold is part of life. So no time like the present to start adjusting.

I’ve had better luck with my soakers and finished the last one this morning. The solid green ones are made using Cascade 220 and the multi-colored are my hand painted Blue faced Leicester. I have to say I truly love this yarn, (and not because I dyed it) though that doesn’t hurt. I love it because it has a super soft feel and it actually shines.

Leave a Reply

