Getting Back to….Normal??

Well at least my new version of normal. Gone are the days of doing mostly what I want when I want (albeit around my teenage girls, work, and Craig). After 9 almost 10 months of “new” motherhood I feel like we’ve turned a corner. Isabelle is sleeping through the night, napping on her own, eating solid food,  and nursing about half as often as she was a month ago.

I am taking full advantage of all my “free” time.  In the past week I have planted all my baskets and containers, weeded my porch garden, gone for a ride on my horse with my girls, (the first in 18 months), dyed 15   skeins of yarn, and made Isabelle 3 skirties.

Even with all the extra demands of an infant I can honestly say we are having a blast. I don’t know if it’s the fact that we are older or that we only have one little one, but this time around we are marveling at each new milestone. And sharing all her delightful antics with anyone and everyone who will listen. To Craig’s absolute delight she loves, loves, loves anything with wheels. When she hears the four-wheeler start-up her legs start going and she squeals in delight. I have been known to track down the person on the 4-wheeler to take her for a ride, because she is so worked up. This past weekend Craig brought home the tractor-backhoe from work. He said it was to do some clean-up around the farm, but I honestly believe it was to take Isabelle for a ride. She spent about 4 hours off and on in it and couldn’t have been happier. Ashlyn also got to drive and move dirt. (she is now rethinking her hairdressing career, maybe playing with big equipment all day would be more fun).

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cindy Henke on June 3, 2011 at 10:27 am

    Hey Kristi, it’s good to hear from you and that you’ve been on a horse :)) You’ve sure been busy and it’s summer already, all of a sudden this weekend. Let me know when you want to saddle up and I can pick you up for a ride to Underdown.

    Reply

    • Hey Cindy, That sounds great!!! It felt so good to be up and riding again!! That’s one of the few things i don’t think I will ever give up. She was really good too, since it’s been as long for her as for me. She can be somewhat unpredictable (half arabian, not that I’m prejudice:) We are going to go again this weekend, and the girls are done with school on Tuesday so I should be able to get some substantial saddle time in.

      Reply

Leave a comment